top of page
  • Chris Dobson

An Open Letter to Arlington

Some people have pointed out that I don't have the best handwriting or photography skills, thusly I have reproduced my open letter from Feb. 14, 2019 below(with a spell check function this time though):


It is with much anticipation and excitement that we enter a new election cycle for City Council and Mayor. We, the people of Arlington, will once again confirm our commitment to the principles of Democratic Self Government.

Truly, I believe our strength, as a city, lies in our diversities (age, race, creed, culture, wisdom, interests and goals). It is for this reason each year while running, I state that I do not view myself as objectively right.

From my point of view, which is just a point of view, our path forward should seek to affirm the dignity and voice of all the people in Arlington. While I recognize the differences among our residents and visitors for our government to represent any of us , we must ensure it represents all of us, from child to centenarian, from indigenous to 10th generation to first day immigrant without papers. To my mind the surest road to moral depravity and injustice is to accept the idea of a second class group.

This tactic of separating a community by praising some and ridiculing others has played out across the world numerous times, often leading to the greatest of inhumanities. We must strive to extend to each other dignity and respect, so that in turn we may receive them. The tolerance paradox thusly requires that we speak this truth to power or any demagogue who would scapegoat any among us. Let us carry forward this season with a lively debate of ideas, duty, consequences, ethics, policies, goals and visions.


Thank you sincerely for your consideration,

Chris "Dobi" Dobson

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page